Image

Nanna Bread

It might sound so yesterday, but Nanna Bread is a big staple in our house.  The first and only person who has cooked a meal for my highly allergic son, outside of my kitchen, is my Mum.  What did she make him?  Paratha’s – Indian flat bread.  Was I nervous – yes!  But I am so glad I took the risk, because this has become an enduring memory and favourite of my son’s, who has aptly and affectionately re-named this delicious Indian bread as ‘Nanna Bread’.  My Mum is an amazing cook and her Indian food is superb (after all she was born in India!), so my Nanna Bread is not up to par with hers but it is getting there.  My son says it’s delicious and always has two – they are filling!

My version has three vegetables, potato, broccoli and corn all combined together with Atta** flour and canola oil.  Atta flour is widely used in India, and now you can freely find it in supermarkets in Australia, it is a mix of whole-wheat flour and wheat bran, so it is high in fibre; just as an aside I never get indigestion with this flour as I do with plain, processed flour.

Now if you look at the image above, please don’t be alarmed that’s the broccoli shining through!  The other thing is that you really need to eat my version of Nanna bread on the day that it’s  made; in our house you are lucky to have any left over!

This recipe makes four large Nanna breads:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Atta flour;
  • 1 small waxy potato mashed (don’t overcook the vegetables and please drain well);
  • 1 medium size broccoli floret mashed;
  • 1/2 cup of cooked corn kernels;
  • 2 tablespoon of canola oil and 1 tablespoons for cooking
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • warm water to combine

Mix the dry ingredients together, add the mashed vegetables and rub into the flour, then add canola oil, mix lightly and add water to combine to make a dough.

Knead and form into balls, roll out into round shapes.

Heat a pan and add brush pan with canola oil, add flat bread and wait for dough to swell, lightly brush the other side and turn over.  Wait until the raw side is cooked and remove from heat.

I have just acquired a crepe pan and use it now for pancakes and paratha’s – it does a fabulous job with both.

**If you can’t find Atta flour at your supermarket, try your local Asian gourmet food store.

3 comments on “Nanna Bread

  1. nancybroyles
    March 21, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    This looks wonderful! I have not heard of Atta Flour.

    Thank you so much for sharing at Allergy Free Wednesday! Please come back again this week. http://www.realfoodallergyfree.com/category/allergy-free-wednesdays/

    • intrepidallergymum
      March 21, 2012 at 11:29 am #

      Hi Nancy
      Thank you for the feedback : ) I love Allergy Free Wednesday and I have a link to it on my site, have contributed before – so thank you for the opportunity! It seems the Nanna bread has been popular – my Mum will be pleased. It is truly a recipe from the heart – hope you get to try it out. Best wishes
      Charmaine

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nanna Bread made with a Tortilla Press = marriage made in heaven! | INTREPID allergy mum - October 25, 2012

    […] the way here is my first version of Nanna Bread, if you like to see where it all […]

Leave a Reply

