Image

babycakes divine!

It is not surprising that I have turned to my Vegan friends for baking inspiration and I am so pleased to tell you that I have found what I have been searching for, intro (this is worth a drum roll or two):  “Babycakes, Covers the Classics” & “Babycakes” by Erin Mc Kenna.  Erin is a vegan baker and her cookbooks are a feast for the eyes!  Erin has bakeries in New York City and Los Angeles;  these establishments have cult status and if I lived in the U.S.,  I would move into  their neighbourhood, or preferably next door to one!

Erin’s personality shines through the cookbooks, this woman is passionate and loves what she does.  I recently saw a video of her making donuts, and she talked about how ideas /  inspiration for her recipes came to her when she meditates – no wonder her cakes are heavenly!

The difference in her recipes is that she goes through and explains the importance of measuring correctly, having the right ingredients and also provides ‘rules for substitutions’ (for those that have food sensitivities or allergies to some ingredients).

There are amazing array of goodies and I so enjoyed pouring over the books with my son, and allowing him the delight and excitement of picking something to make, of course he picked the most decadent of the lot, the ‘Black-And-White’ Cookies.  This recipe was simple enough to make, however the icing was tricky!

What does Erin use that I haven’t been using?

  • Xanthum Gum;
  • Chickpea & Fava Bean Flour *- because Erin likes to ensure that sweet treats should have some (protein) substance to them;
  • Potato Starch;
  • Agave Nectar;
  • Rice Flour;
  • Spelt Flour;
  • Coconut Oil – now be careful here it is a particular sort that she recommends.

So far, I have made the cookies, the chocolate muffins and the pancakes – next baked horizon is the donuts….stay tuned!

*I have found a stockist in Australia for this flour, however, it is produced in a factory where almond meal is also processed.  If you have no problem with this you can leave me a comment and I will send you the link!

Leave a Reply

