Image

Last Minute..Bunny Hop

It was a snap decision and a late one I might add, I didn’t have Easter Eggs for my son, so I needed to make them, the night before Easter.  My son affectionately calls Easter Eggs, ‘bunnies’ because his logic is that the Easter Bunny delivers them so therefore they should be named accordingly – I guess?  So I quickly whipped up some, went to the store and bought Silicone Easter Egg moulds, and cellophane to wrap them, I already had the chocolate.

You are most probably wondering why I didn’t buy them – well it is a good question, I did buy two in fact but they turned out to be potentially hazardous (I discovered this after reading the allergy caution under the ingredients).  To cut a long story short my son is highly allergic to dairy and nuts (to name two), the ‘Moo Free’ Easter Eggs I purchased are made in a factory that processes soy and nuts. My son is fine with soy, it’s the potential traces of nuts in the product that I was uncomfortable with, after some contemplation I just didn’t want to try the ‘Moo Free’ Eggs, I couldn’t bring myself to test him with it before Easter and certainly wasn’t going to do it on the day.

So my panic buy of moulds, cellophane and my first attempt at making Easter Eggs within the space of one hour, was a success of sorts, you can see the results above.  I used a dairy free chocolate that we have readily available it’s called ‘Sweet William’, my son has had it before and loves it.  I did get ‘Easter Bunnies’ in the ‘Sweet William’ brand, but for some reason this company did not make Easter Eggs.  I think it is kind of nice to have chocolate in the shape of an Easter Egg, especially when you are nearly 5 years of age and all your friends and cousins are receiving (and devouring) egg-shaped chocolate; surely it must taste better?

So I just melted the ‘Sweet William’ chocolate in a makeshift double boiler, lined the moulds (for a hollow egg),  popped them  in the fridge for about 10 minutes, removed them from the fridge, de-moulded them, just added melted chocolate to join two sides of the egg together and ‘hey presto’ an Easter Egg!  Just a small but an important one to note, I picked the small moulds which are less risky for the novice egg maker (i.e. me).

Then to add a bit of glamour and glitz, I put them in some foil chocolate cups I had floating around in my pantry, wrapped them in cellophane, with a tinsel flourish and placed them in the Easter basket, my son made at School.  They will be hurriedly scattered around our garden tomorrow morning, ready for the fun-filled and delightful annual Easter Hunt.  Just for the record I made 15 Bunnies, I mean Easter Eggs!  My son often queries whether the kangaroos have seen that tricky Easter Bunny – cute isn’t he?  By the way we don’t have kangaroos in our garden, but my Sister-In-Law does!

Happy Easter!!

4 comments on “Last Minute..Bunny Hop

  1. Allergyfun
    April 13, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Your Easter eggs looks great – much better than my attempts using a large egg mould. I look forward to reading more of your recipes for kids with allergies to milk, eggs and nuts. Our son can’t take any of those traces either so I’m sure our recipes will help eachother out!

    • intrepidallergymum
      April 14, 2012 at 7:53 am #

      Thank you! Will be posting a delicious ice cream and a yogurt recipe soon, stay tuned. It is funny that I have to be inspired to cook, I have no choice, it is worth it when my little boy says he loves the food (doesn’t happen all the time)! The blog inspires and motivates me to try new things, to be a bit more adventurous. Look forward to checking out your recipes!

  2. Noa
    March 25, 2013 at 12:00 am #

    Oh my God. I just made those (out of my imagination)then searched on the net n found yours! Identical mould n i also used sweet williams. I used white choc to give a bit of fun(was def harder to make) on the bumpy decoration bits. I ran into a lady at woolies today n she told me where the sweet williams bunnies where hiding.. She said.she had the same mould n she’ve done the eggs before… Maybe u are the lady i ran into.. Haha

    • intrepidallergymum
      March 25, 2013 at 11:25 am #

      Hi Noa
      Thanks for stopping by! Yes the moulds are tricky but I just worked out something, I think you are supposed to make them solid eggs – not just the shells…that might make it easier. It wasn’t me you met – but great that someone else is also making dairy free, home made eggs. I have a new idea for Easter which I will be posting shortly…so hope you stop by again and that you have a great Easter!

Leave a Reply

