Image

Falling in love…through the looking glass

After two years of a business like relationship with my camera, I have finally fallen in love.  Familiarity is supposed to breed contempt but in this case the more I opened my mind to new opportunities, new ways to be creative, I started to see my camera in a new light (no pun intended).

My internet business is a large consumer of macro photography and model shots, over two years I have had to quickly learn the principles of studio photography, styling, lighting and so on, I am still enjoying the experience, and each shoot is an opportunity to improve.  But lately, actually it’s been since I have started up this blog, I am seeking other opportunities to use my camera and thoroughly enjoying the experience!  The shift in my feelings for photography has been subtle, but quite dramatic:

  • I have just completed a photo shoot of my family; Mum, Dad, four siblings, plus partners, and their children; I have never been inspired to do this before;  I wish I could show you the pictures, I am quietly proud of them, but for privacy reasons I have not included them here.
  • I drool over camera equipment on the B & H Photography Website  (I feel compelled to view this website at least once per week – another source of eye candy!);
  • I have been keenly watching a great new series in Australia called ‘Photo Finish’ on the Australian Broadcasting Commission (ABC); where three amateur photographers are given various assignments and their work judged by a panel of experts;  I am starting to imagine myself in these situations – what choices would I make, how would I frame the shot?
  • I have entered the picture (above) into a competition! This is so not me, but that’s how much fun I am having with my camera!  The picture above is titled ‘Through the Looking Glass”.

‘Through the Looking Glass’ is my salute to “Alice in Wonderland” by Lewis Carroll; one of my favourite stories when I was a little.  The idea came to me when I was thinking about using our garden mirror as an anchor for the shot (I handcrafted this garden mirror/mosaic about 7 years ago) .

The competition is open to Australian Residents only, and you need to include a lens in the shot; that’s why there is a ‘Box Brownie’ in my shot!  This Box Brownie  is special, it belonged to my Father-In-Law. and it was well used over many years, to create beautiful images of family life.

For those of you who are wondering about the allergy component to this blog,  I am still trying to be fearless and finding joy in new things, so stay tuned for more cooking and photography posts in the future.

Of course there is the allergies, but sometimes we all need an escape, and I am currently enjoying the world of nature and capturing special moments with the people I love.

By the way (with a smile and wink), can’t help but ask – what do you think of my chances of winning the competition?

Leave a Reply

