Image

The Rub

My son was finishing school early and all of his friends (and parents) were descending on a local park with some take away lunch.  Most parents were heading to the local roast chicken take-away, for chicken and chips.  Unfortunately we don’t have the luxury of buying take out for my son, it is just too risky, he is severely allergic to dairy and egg.  So to ensure he wasn’t missing out on the fun, I made roast chicken and chips with whole wheat wraps.

Here’s the rub, I thought I’d try an organic chicken for a change, so I went to the butcher and requested one, and he said “that will be $27!”  Yowza!

The high cost of a chemical and hormone free bird!  So I was already committed and purchased the organic bird and took it home.  In the interim I did some grocery shopping and couldn’t help but notice that a free range chicken  (double the size ~ as it is hormone fed) is only $6 on special, ouch.

I decided to do a rub for this special bird and mixed the following marinade:

  • 2 teaspoons of cummin
  • 2 teaspoons of turmeric
  • 2 teaspoons of paprika
  • 3 garlic cloves smashed and chopped finely
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons of salt

After mixing the marinade, wash the chicken and dry off extra moisture with a kitchen paper towel, gently massage the mix into the chicken skin, wrap the chicken with cling film and place in fridge at least 12 hours before roasting.

The next day I took the chicken out of the fridge for at least one hour (to bring it to room temperature) before roasting it.  All that was left to do was to cut a lemon in half and place one half into the cavity and roast in a fan forced oven at 180′, for about 90 minutes, turning over after the first 30 minutes.

The chicken turned out beautifully and was really flavourful, my son loved it!

To get the maximum value out of my precious little bird, I made stock from the carcass (you can see my recipe for chicken stock here).

Would I buy an organic chicken again?  Definitely, but clearly there is a price to pay for eating food, the way it was meant to be.

Leave a Reply

