Image

Aargh, home made ~ Gold Chocolate Coins

Yes I know, you are looking at these home-made golden coins, and you might be thinking – why not buy them – why go to the hassle?  Well, one outrageous, life threatening allergy to dairy, and a 5-year-old boy who wanted gold pirate coins ~ need I say more.  The gold chocolate coins you buy in the store are typically made with dairy, so a no go for us.

So for ‘Talk like a Pirate Day’ all I could do was make some chocolate buttons; not enough notice…only found out three day’s before that the Teachers were handing out gold chocolate (dairy) coins to all the pre-primary children.   However, since then I have been on a quest and have found a golden chocolate maker at a local store for $11!

You need to add your own chocolate

The box comes with only four chocolate moulds

Chocolate coin making station

Pressing out the foil, ready to stamp onto the coins

The making of this Pirate Treasure is tricky, like following a treasure map!  And the embossing of the pattern, near on impossible, you must have the chocolate at the right temperature, but all of this is not important, because my little boy loves that the chocolate is in golden foil, chocolate coins are now in the realm of magic and wonder!

What is it about packaging that makes the ordinary – extraordinary?  His feedback “delicious – can I take the golden coins to share with my class?”  Love his generosity.

For the record, there are four chocolate molds in the box,  and we made a huge total of 8 coins!  Ha!  My son and my husband had one a piece – hence only 6 for the photograph!

6 comments on “Aargh, home made ~ Gold Chocolate Coins

  1. Paula
    October 17, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    I found you! These look amazing – well done mum 🙂

    • intrepidallergymum
      October 18, 2012 at 8:23 am #

      Hi Paula! Thank you, it made my little man very happy – now I have to find some gold foil, the pack only came with four sheets…another quest!

  2. James
    October 18, 2012 at 4:59 am #

    They look scrummy! Will try and make those with my daughter this weekend. What would be good is to wrap them and put them on the Christmas tree this year…. Hmm you’ve given me an idea!

    • intrepidallergymum
      October 28, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      Hi James

      Thanks for stopping by and great idea! Chocolate Coins would make a great treat for the Tree and for Xmas stockings too! Thanks for your idea!

  3. Martine S Crook
    November 10, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    I would love to know where you were able to purchase the coin maker – we are having a pirate party for my daughter’s 4th birthday and I cannot find dairy free coins anywhere…

    • intrepidallergymum
      November 11, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

      Hi Martine
      Thanks for stopping by. I don’t know where you live, but in Australia I bought the coin maker from Myer. However, if you live in the US you can buy dairy free coins from Amanda’s confectionary. If you are stumped and can’t do either of these options, buy a chocolate making tray of any kind, purchase some gold foil (I use Wiltons – bought it from Amazon) and wrap these little babies and they are more decadent then a coin. I melt dairy free chocolate and a bit of coconut oil. Good luck and please let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

