Image

Nanna Bread made with a Tortilla Press = marriage made in heaven!

I do a lot of cooking and I love labour saving devices, that do exactly what they promise…cue the Tortilla Press by Norpro; love at first sight! Awesome Gadget

Indian flat bread dough also known as ‘Nanna Bread’ in our home

Roll the dough into approximately 2.5cm or 1 inch balls and place into the Tortilla Press, then press down on the lever

You have now got a beautiful round flat bread ready to cook (note the use of parchment paper this stops the bread from sticking to the Press)

Nanna Bread on the rise – I use a crepe pan – see tips below

I make a lot of Indian flat bread, lots, believe me.  The Tortilla Press, saves me washing up  time,  all I do is make the dough, roll the balls, pop them into the tortilla press, and ta-da!  Perfect, round-shaped bread ready to cook. Where is the labour-saving? No pastry mat, rolling-pin or lashings of flour to smooth the process (therefore you don’t have to wash or have a huge clean up effort!).

Once you get the feel for creating the perfect sized dough ball, it is so easy!  Parchment paper is a necessity when using the Press – this stops the bread from sticking.  The added benefit – all you have to do after cooking is to clean the press with warm soapy water, and it is ready to go again.  I do realise I sound like an advertisement for the Tortilla Press, I assure you I am not being paid in any way to do this post (or this blog for that matter!).   I am very happy with my new gadget and it has been promoted to ‘favourite’ status in our home.

You may be interested in my latest recipe for Indian Flat Bread affectionately known as ‘Nanna Bread’ (my son named this delicious bread, after he ate it at my Mother’s house, it was the first food he ate outside my kitchen, given his allergies, this was a big thing!):

New Recipe for Nanna Bread

  • 2 cups of Atta flour (Indian Flour or Wholemeal flour)
  • 3 tablespoons of chickpea flour or besan (Hindi word for chickpea)
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon of canola oil
  • warm water to bring the dough together

Mix all the dry ingredients together and add the oil and warm water stirring until a dough is formed (you can do this in a food processor).  You don’t want your dough to be too wet, if it is wet or sticky, just add some flour until you get the dough into a non-sticky ball.

Allow the dough a little rest, 30 minutes or so, and then roll into balls about 2.5cm or 1 inch, in diameter.  Once you have a bowl full of dough balls, line your Tortilla Press with parchment paper (to stop the flat bread from sticking), place the dough ball in the middle, press down with the lever, lift the lid and you should see a lovely round flat bread ready for cooking.

Cook the flat bread in a crepe pan, on a medium heat with just a smear of oil, cook on both sides and then return to the first side and watch your bread swell and puff, this is your cue to take it off the stove.  Just a note, if you are not getting the ‘puff’ happening, you might not have your pan hot enough, or your flat bread might be too thin.  Don’t be disheartened if you don’t get it ‘just so’ on your first try – it took me a while to get to ‘flat bread Nirvana’!

Do you have some favourite accompaniments with your flat bread?  Please share…I would love to get some new ideas!

By the way here is my first version of Nanna Bread, if you would like to read where it all began.

Leave a Reply

