Image

Cheesy Bread Rolls ~ Vegan Style

 

I couldn’t  help but think of PSY when I wrote this title, my son does a lively rendition of ‘Gangnam Style’; he was shown the moves in his Cultural Studies class at School (!).  Watching a 5-year-old ‘bust a move’ is very entertaining!

So back to the bread rolls – Vegan (not Gangnam) Style.  If you have been following my blog you will know that my son is severely allergic to dairy (and quite a few other things) so I need to source new recipes and flavour sensations as a necessity.  Recently he told me he didn’t like the commercial crackers we buy for him – they are by ESKAL and they are called ‘Deli Crackers – Original’, they are safe for him to eat and quite tasty; shame really, as finding something commercially prepared and safe for him to eat is a bonus as my cooking schedule is pretty full!

I did a google search and found this great blog with a recipe for Cheesy Bread Rolls.  The cheese substitution is Savoury/Nutritional Yeast, I have never used this before, so it is a first for me.

Of course I changed the recipe slightly, because it is hard-wired in my DNA (sometimes my changes to recipes work, sometimes they don’t!), happy to tell you that this recipe worked.  The bread was light and tasty, subtle but very moorish (all 8 bread rolls gone!).

Cheesy Bread Rolls – Vegan Style

  • 1 tablespoon instant dry yeast + 1 tablespoon sugar in 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/2 small white onion, finely diced + 1 tablespoon minced garlic, sautéed in 1 tablespoon of garlic until translucent
  • 1  cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup of besan or chickpea flour
  • 4 tablespoons savoury/nutritional yeast
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt

Mix the active yeast, sugar and 1/2 cup water until the yeast dissolves and set aside.  Gently saute the onion and garlic in olive oil until translucent and leave to cool.  Mix the dry ingredients together, add the wet ingredients, you can use a fork or your hand, until combined into a dough ball.  Roll sausage shape pieces of dough and place on a well-greased baking tray.  Gently brush the tops of the dough-loaves with olive oil and leave for 30 minutes to prove/rise – place in a warm area covered in cling film.  Bake in a moderately hot oven at about 200’C for 1o minutes.

The bread rolls come out golden, thanks to the chick pea flour and nutritional yeast, and are delicious.  My son didn’t like them at first and later decided he did, unfortunately there was only one left…looks like I will be making them again.

Do you have any vegan cracker recipes? I did set out to make crackers but as you can see I got side-tracked!  Would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

