Image

Sausage Rolls

sausage rolls (1 of 1)
Once in a while back in the day when I was at school, we were allowed to order our lunch, for 50 cents I would by a blue disc, which included a sausage roll, a fruit, a small drink and a cake!  You can’t get that value for 50 cents these days!  Needless to say, I still have a fondness for sausage rolls, and now make them for my son when he goes to birthday parties.

To simplify the process I use sausages from the store and just wrap them in a homemade blanket of pastry. My pastry is very simple and is similar to other short crust pastry recipes just without dairy, you just have to roll it to the thickness you like, I roll mine quite thin.

Short Crust Pastry Dough Recipe

  • 3/4 cup of plain flour
  • 1/2 cup of Atta Flour
  • 2 tablespoons of chickpea flour
  • 1 tablespoon of coconut flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup of cold non dairy margarine
  • 60 mls of cold water

Just a note you can use the flour you prefer, I like to mix it up a bit and amp up the fibre…but whatever works for you is good!

Place all dry ingredients in a food processor and pulse to blend for 10 secs.  Add non-dairy margarine and pulse until the mix resembles bread crumbs, slowly add cold water until a dough ball is formed.

Wrap the dough ball in cling film and rest into the fridge for 1 hour.  Whilst the pastry is resting cook your sausages and allow to cool.

Roll out the dough into 2mm thickness (see below).

sausage rolls dough (1 of 1)

Place the sausage in the pastry and wrap gently, brush with a little olive oil and place in a moderate to hot oven around 200’C for 10-15 minutes.

Once out of the oven, you can cool and enjoy with your favourite ketchup.  If you make a big batch you can freeze them, I tend to not cook the pastry, I just roll the sausage in the uncooked pastry and place it in an air tight bag or container.  I then just defrost the sausage roll and bake in the oven and it is ready to eat.

2 comments on “Sausage Rolls

  1. Russel Ray Photos
    February 17, 2013 at 3:41 am #

    Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

    • intrepidallergymum
      February 17, 2013 at 8:11 am #

      Hi Ray – thanks for camping out and being such a gracious camper! I am really getting into photography and love your blog. I am consdiering a zoom lens for my canon 550D, sneaker zoom is great but sometimes it would be great to have the flexibility to zoom in or out on your subject….any suggestions? Best wishes Charmaine

Leave a Reply

